Climate Implications of Computing & Communications Workshop

Thursday, March 3 & Friday, March 4, 2022 | 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. ET on each day

See full agenda & register.

The demand for computing and wireless communications technologies is expected to increase significantly, resulting in a considerable impact on the planet. The MIT Climate and Sustainability Consortium, MIT-IBM Watson AI Lab, and MIT Schwarzman College of Computing are hosting a workshop to explore initiatives that could lower the climate impacts of the computing and communications (e.g. telecommunications) sectors. This virtual two-day event will feature discussions and opportunities for collaboration with MIT faculty and industry leaders during multiple sessions.

Topics will include:
  • Algorithms and custom hardware for efficient computing
  • Wireless, networked, and distributed systems
  • Energy-efficient sources and delivery systems
  • Materials and hardware for new architectures 
Confirmed speakers include:
  • Takashi Ando, Principal Research Staff Member, IBM Research
  • Ahmad Bahai, Chief Technology Officer, Texas Instruments
  • Bill Dally, Chief Scientist and Senior Vice President of Research, NVIDIA
  • Jeff Dean, Senior Vice President, Google Research and Google Health
  • Dario Gil, Senior Vice President and Director of Research, IBM
  • Evgeni Gousev, Senior Director, Qualcomm
  • Helen Greiner, CEO, Tertill; Co-Founder, iRobot
  • Heidi Hemmer, Senior Vice President of Engineering, Verizon
  • Sam Naffziger, Senior Vice President, Corporate Fellow, and Product Technology Architect, AMD
  • Heike Riel, IBM Fellow, Head Science & Technology, Lead IBM Research Quantum Europe, IBM Research
  • Mats Pellbäck Scharp, Head of Sustainability, Ericsson
MIT faculty participation includes:
  • Jesús del Alamo, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Joel Emer, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science 
  • Song Han, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Muriel Medard, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • David Perreault, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Vivienne Sze, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Bilge Yildiz, Nuclear Science and Engineering